Character Blog 1: Jinn – Inspiration

I’ve always been fascinated with the idea of the anti-hero. A character that is neither good or bad within a story that have their own personal motives. I find they are much more relate able to people due to a seemingly more intense inner conflict as a normal person is neither all good or purely evil. When I created Jinn, I wanted a dark looking character who was arrogant in his abilities and have traits that seemed almost villainous due to his super human abilities.  It was imperative that the powers used at his disposal were showed to not only be a part of his arrogance but also a part of his inner conflict or anguish. The following videos below helped inspire what kind of pain and mental trauma I could see him going through while injecting himself with his powers. Being a dark and mysterious character I found it imperative that people knew when he was a syndicate member by physical appearance before he revealed any powers as shown in the pictures below.

Cloak 2 Cloak

Yellow eyesOuroboros.pentagram

I decided to distinguish him visually through his cloak, the mark on his hand and his eyes. All of these were inspired through various other stories mixed with my imagination. The entire story was inspired through a song called Kismet by Bond. The powers and distinct eyes were inspired through video games: Bioshock and The Witcher (inspired from a book) and the cloak and  markings were inspired by various Japanese animations such as: Bleach and Full Metal Alchemist. My creativity tends to stem from other media where I can take multiple ideas and stem and mold them into my own.

Kismet – Bond

Videos:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IV-ydowvT-E

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjNxbGqgHXg

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Character Blog 1: Jinn – Inspiration

  1. Nicely done but keep an eye on your grammar. Some of your sentences aren’t making sense, so give a proofread before you post. Interesting character for sure. And vivid visuals. Looking forward to reading more. 4/5

Leave a comment